TSU takes 15 wins in dual meet

TSU Athletics

COMMERCE - in the first annual East Texas Dual Tarleton battled it out with Texas A&M-Commerce on the track and in the field, finishing the meet with 15 event wins.

The Texan and TexAnn track and field teams would finish the day with 43 top-three finishes, 15 first-place finishes - including sweeping four events - and two provisional marks.

"In the first meet following spring break there was a little rust that needed to be shaken off but overall I feel like we did a good job of competing," said Tarleton head coach Pat Ponder. "The (upcoming) month of April is going to show us a lot about where we are as a team."


The title of fastest man and woman went to Phillip Hayes and DeAijha Hick-Boyce who won the 100m early in the meet. Hayes finished with a season-best 10.86 while Hicks-Boyce would finish with a 12.43.

Randall Kadlacek established himself as the top hurdler at the meet by pulling off the double in the hurdles, winning the 110m hurdles in 14.88 and going the distance in the 400m hurdles in a personal best and provisional time of 52.80.


Morgan McKee, Sarah Vann, Danyelle Dillard, Brianna Johnson and William Carlton all left the meet as champions of their individual events.

McKee finished the day as the best high jumper clearing 1.62m (5'-3.75") to take the win while Dillard and Johnson handled business in the thrown winning the shot put and hammer throw, respectively. Dillard's throw of 13.18m (43'-3") was a full four feet further than the next competitor while Johnson, won the hammer throw with a toss of 142'-2", bested the next closest competitor by nearly 20-feet.

Vann and Carlton swept the men and women's pole vault clearing 3.51m (11'-6.25") and 4.57m (15'-0"), respectively.


Tarleton's distance crew would record wins at two different distances. Steven Rushing would get things going in the 800m, taking the lead after the first 550m and never looking back. Rushing went on to finish the race in 1:55.52 - a season best.

Moving up to the 5000m it was Luke Scribner snagging the win by over two-seconds, finishing the race in 15:38.42.

In the 4x100m relay, both the Texan and TexAnn relays recorded wins. The women's relay - Deylinn Garrett, Robbie Clarke, Ariel Ballard and DeAijha Hicks-Boyce - carried the baton the distance in a time of 47.64, while the men - Cornelius Blair, Phillip Hayes, Jordan Jones and Cade Hitzfeld - needed only 42.10 seconds to complete the journey.

Both the Texan and TexAnn 4x400m relays would claim victories as well. LaDaria Nelson, DeAijha Hicks-Boyce, Leslie Zupanic and Jasmine Owens combined to pace the field to a 3:53.60 finish in the relay while Terrance Gross, Cameron Krc, Marquis Thompson and Gilson Umunnakwe blazed the track to their first provisional mark of the year in the mile-relay, clocking 3:13.56.

Tarleton will head to Austin to take part in the 88th Nike Clyde Littlefield Texas Relays Wednesday March 25th - Saturday March 28th.