Lone Star Conference tourney begins

E-T Staff Report

The official brackets are set for the annual Lone Star Conference Men’s and Women’s Basketball Championships which start Wednesday and continue through Saturday in Allen.

Both Tarleton teams are in the tourney, the Texans battling ENMU on Wednesday and the TexAnns opening tournament play on Thursday against Texas Woman’s.

The top eight men and women’s teams advance to the conference tournament, led by men’s champion Tarleton State and women’s title holder West Texas A&M.

The No. 7 Texans, who are riding a 13-game inning streak heading into the postseason, won the LSC title with a 12-2 record. The Texans claimed their second straight championship and fourth overall.

West Texas A&M claimed the LSC women’s title with a nearly perfect 15-1 league record. The Lady Buffs picked up their second straight championship and 13th overall.

Tickets are available through Ticketmaster outlets and Ticketmaster.com, as well as the Allen Event Center box office. Single-session tickets are $15 for adults and $10 for students.