Local election guide coming Saturday

Sara Vanden Berge svandenberge@empiretribune.com
Early voting in the March 6 Primary begins Feb. 20.

Residents will soon get the chance to learn more about the candidates running for various offices in the March 6 Republican Party primary.

For the first time in more than two decades, residents will elect a new county judge, county treasurer and Erath County sheriff. Commissioner races in precincts two and four are also on the ballot.

The Empire-Tribune's annual candidate Q&A will be featured this year in a special election guide publishing on Saturday, Feb. 17.

Candidates in each race were emailed five questions and they emailed back their answers. The answers will be published exactly as they were submitted.

Q&As that will be featured include:

Commissioner Precinct 2

Herbert Brown

Jim Pool

Albert Ray

Scotty Whitefield

Commissioner Precinct 4

Jim Buck

Cody Scott

Shane Stegall

John Wooley

Erath County Judge

Heath Allen

Jack Bragg

Alfonso Campos

Jon Koonsman

Shelby Slawson

Erath County Sheriff

Matt Coates

Bobby Harpole

Clell Murray

Paul Tyus

Erath County Treasurer

Kim Barrier

Kelli Raymond

Early voting will take place Feb. 20 - March 2.