Historical Commission awarded for distinguished service

J. Michael Ross jross@empiretribune.com
The Erath County Historical Commission was presented with a Distinguished Service Award on Monday. Pictured from left: Joe Brown, Dee Stephens, Scot Jackson, Cathey Hartmann, Joyce Whitis, and Judge Tab Thompson.

Commissioners court was in session Monday and at the top of the agenda was the presentation of a Distinguished Service Award from the Texas Historical Commission to the Erath County Historical Commission.

The award for distinguished service during the previous year was presented by Judge Tab Thompson and accepted by Cathey Hartmann, chair of the ECHC, who also delivered the group’s annual report.

“We thank you for all you do for the people of Erath County," Thompson said. "This award is a recognition of the hard work you all do in researching and documenting the history of the county and we appreciate you and your efforts very much.”

Hartmann explained some of the work the ECHC has done to earn the award. “We’ve been working on three main areas, the first of which are four historical sites including Kiker’s Gin, the original site of the Audie Murphy Arena, which was at Fry and Dale streets, Dawson’s Saloon, which is where Greer’s is now, and the Gentry Shelton building at College and Graham.

“The second area is Texas Treasures in Business. That includes businesses in our area that have been around for 50 years or more. And the third is a cultural and historical survey of Erath County.”

The Erath County Historical Commission is the local arm of the Texas Historical Commission. The all-volunteer commission is appointed to two-year terms by commissioners.

Other agenda items addressed were:

• Approval of the preliminary plat for Morgan Creek Estates

• Approval of revisions to the plat for Lone Oak Cabins

• Approval of a service contract for physic-control devices for emergency responders

• Approval of a contract with Stryker for ambulance equipment.