Endowment honors Tarleton counseling professor

TSU Media Relations
Dr. Ann Albrecht

An endowed scholarship to honor longtime professor Ann Albrecht has been created in concert with the 40th anniversary of Tarleton State University’s Department of Counseling.

Dr. Albrecht joined Tarleton in 1992 as the program’s third faculty member and is credited with helping set the pace for its growth and development.

Albrecht and husband Dr. Dennis Jones, professor in Tarleton’s College of Business Administration, made the initial gift to start the endowment. When fully funded, students enrolled in the master’s degree program in clinical mental health counseling can apply for the Dr. Ann Albrecht Honorary Counseling Scholarship.

“We are extremely fortunate to have such dedicated faculty and strong supporters as Drs. Ann Albrecht and Dennis Jones,” said Dr. David Weissenburger, interim dean of Tarleton’s College of Health Sciences and Human Services. “Their generous gift will help us meet North Texas’ need for professional clinical mental health counselors.”

When Albrecht joined Tarleton, the counseling program—then a master’s of education—was geared toward helping high schools meet the 1958 National Defense Education Act requirement to have a professional counselor on staff. Coming from a public school career, she understood the need and was eager to help.

Albrecht was inducted into the John Tarleton Society in 2011 and honored by the Texas School Counselor Association as Rhosine Fleming Outstanding Counselor Educator of the Year. She received the Outstanding Service Award from the Cross Timbers Counseling Association in 2009 and Tarleton’s All-Purple Award in 2007 for her support of the school’s athletic programs.

To donate to the Dr. Ann Albrecht Honorary Counseling Scholarship, go to https://tinyurl.com/AnnAlbrecht.