As a team, Hico qualified for the baseball playoffs for the first time in school history this spring.

As goes the team, go the players.

Eleven Tigers were honored as first or second-team members of the 2008 District 11-2A All-District team. They are joined by six listed from Dublin.

Hico Head Coach Britt Hart was named Coach of the Year. Hart left immediately following the conclusion of the Tigersí bi-district playoff loss to join former Hico Athletic Director Wade Williamsí staff at Class A Wellington in West Texas.

Two Tiger players picked up special awards, and both will be back next season.

Cade Clemens, a junior who hit the first playoff homerun in school history, was named Newcomer of the Year, while teammate Ben Clay, also a junior earned the title Defensive MVP.

Four more Tigers who will return to the diamond in 2009 were named to the first team roster, including Jared Davis, a sophomore pitcher, Taylor Bussel, a junior second baseman, Jeremy Barnett, a junior outfielder, and junior designated hitter Michael Pennington.

Dublin grabbed one first-team spot thanks to the performance of Klint Lewis, a junior, at third base.

Four Tigers and three Lions are listed as second-teamers.

From Hico, senior pitcher Roy Halliburton is on the second team. He became the first Tiger pitcher to start a playoff game for the school in game one of the Tigersí lone playoff series.

Halliburton is joined by teammates Sean Shipman, a sophomore catcher, junior first baseman Jack Shepherd, and third baseman Andrew Wise. Wise is the only first or second teamer from Hico who will not return next year.

On the second team from Dublin are sophomore Brandon Zuniga at second base, sophomore Matt Tiemann at shortstop and junior Luis Zavala in the outfield.

From Dublin, senior pitcher Mark Williams and junior first baseman Brady Monrreal were both recognized with honorable mention status.