Special to the E-T

Tarleton Sports Information

RICHARDSON – Five Tarleton TexAnn softball players have been honored by the Lone Star Conference for their efforts on the diamond during the 2008 season, including senior Kelli Gayle who was named the LSC South Division Co-Player of the Year.

Senior Brooke Saulters was named a All-LSC South Division First Team pitcher while Gayle was placed on the Second Team at shortstop behind Angelo State’s Macy Baker, despite sharing the Co-Player of the Year Award with the Rambelle junior. Tarleton junior Brittnee Rice was named a second team selection at designated player.

April Gonzlez, a sophomore catcher, and Laura Mehl, a senior utility player, were both named to the LSC South Division honorable mention list.

Overall 73 student-athletes were recognized by the all-conference program, including at least one player from each of the 14 LSC softball teams. The awards are voted upon by the league coaches in each division.

Gayle also leads a list of four TexAnns who have been recognized by the LSC for academics.

Gayle was named to the LSC South Division All-Academic Team. She is a pre-physical therapy major.

Nicole Cone, a junior business management major from Lake Worth; Tamra Bradley, a pre-medicine major from Deer Park; and Ashley Hitt, a fitness management major from Mesquite, were all named to the LSC Commissioner’s Academic Honor Roll.

To be eligible for LSC academic honors, student-athletes must carry at least a 3.20 grade point average and have reached sophomore status both athletically and academically. The Academic Player of Year award and All-Academic Team are selected from the list of academically qualified players, with the league’s sports information directors voting on the basis of both academic and athletic achievement. All qualifying student-athletes not selected for the All-Academic Team are then named to the Commissioner’s Honor Roll.

In all, 54 softball players were distinguished through the league’s academic awards program, including at least one from all 14 softball-playing member institutions.