Courtesy of Tarleton Sports Information

RICHARDSON - Tarleton’s Alesha Hurt and Dan Myane have been named Lone Star Conference Scholar-Athlete Award winners for the 2006-07 school year.

Hurt, a senior golf player from Eula, has a 4.0 graduate GPA in business. She was named the 2007 Lone Star Conference Academic Player of the Year award after turning in a 4.0 GPA in graduate school.

She was also named to the LSC Academic Team for the second straight season. Last year, she was named a National Golf Coaches Association All-American Scholar.

Myane, a senior baseball player from Blanco, is a two-year letterman with the Tarleton baseball team and served as the Student-Athlete Advisory Committee president last year. He started all 53 games for the Texans and was a strong leader on a squad that was one game away from the LSC tournament.

Hurt and Myane were among 29 student-athletes recognized by the LSC this year.

Each academic year, the LSC presents a Scholar-Athlete Award to one male and one female student-athlete at each member institution. These student-athletes are selected as representatives of the outstanding accomplishments in athletics, scholarship and leadership that are displayed on each LSC campus during the year.

To be eligible for consideration, student-athletes must have participated at least two years in their sport and must have exhausted their athletic eligibility.

Besides representing each of the league’s 15 member institutions, this year’s recipients represent nine of the 15 sports that are sponsored by the conference. Football had the most Scholar-Athletes with five selections, followed by track and field with four.

The 2006-07 Scholar-Athletes led their respective teams to two LSC divisional titles, two LSC championships and one NCAA Regional crown.

Texas is home for 15 of the honorees, with eight from Oklahoma and one each from Kansas, Iowa, Arizona, New Mexico and Arkansas. Another hails from Australia.