Special to the E-T

LSC Media Relations

Abilene Christianís Camille Vandendriessche and Tarleton Stateís Cassidi Porter were named Lone Star Conference Academic Athletes of the Year on Thursday when league officials announced the LSCís annual academic awards for menís and womenís track and field.

Vandendriessche was joined by 10 other track and field stars on the LSC Menís All-Academic Team, while Porter led a group of 11 standouts on the LSC Womenís All-Academic Team.

In addition to the 22 men and women on the All-Academic Teams, 24 more student-athletes were recognized on the LSC Commissionerís Honor Roll.

To be eligible for LSC academic honors, student-athletes must carry at least a 3.20 grade point average and have reached sophomore status both athletically and academically. The Academic Player of Year award and All-Academic Team are selected from the list of academically qualified players, with the leagueís sports information directors voting on the basis of both academic and athletic achievement. All qualifying student-athletes not selected for the All-Academic Team are then named to the Commissionerís Honor Roll.On the menís team with Vandendriessche was teammate Julius Nyango, Texas A&M-Commerceís Anthony Tosie and Josh Conder, Eastern New Mexicoís Kennedy Baiywo, Guy Kcholi, Steven Aragon and Jonathan Tafoya and Texas A&M-Kingsvilleís Isaac Saldivar, Abel Garcia and Earsel Montgomery.

Along with Porter on the Womenís All-Academic Team were ACUís Jessica Withrow, TAMUKís Raquel Tidwell, Cathryn Pratka, Erica Alvarado and Kylie Ward, Angelo Stateís Ashley Painter, Janna Henderson, Kyndel Howell and Brittney Heath and ENMUís Hannah Rhoten.