Special to the E-T

Tarleton Sports Information

Abilene Christian had 10 first-team picks and two individual award winners recognized Thursday when the annual football awards were announced by LSC officials.

The Wildcats had five players on the top offense and five more on the first-team defense, plus two-time Offensive Lineman of the Year Tony Washington and Co-Defensive Back of the Year Tony Harp.

LSC co-champion Tarleton State had 14 players honored on the first- and second-teams with six on offense and eight on defense including Linebacker of the Year Marcus Phillips.

Midwestern State and Texas A&M-Kingsville, who earned LSC titles with 9-2 conference marks, each had 10 athletes on the top two teams.  The Mustangs and Javelinas both had six on offense and four on defense.

MSU had four individual award winners with the Co-Offensive Back of the Year Zack Eskridge, Receiver of the Year Andy Tanner, Co-Defensive Back Micah Hill and Co-Coach of the Year Bill Maskill.

MSU, TAMUK, Tarleton and ACU were each selected for the NCAA Division II playoffs and are playing in first-round games Nov. 14.  The Mustangs (9-2) are the third seed in Super Region Four and will host the No. 6 Wildcats (8-3) in Wichita Falls at 12 p.m.  The Javelinas (9-2) are also hosting a first-round game as the fourth seed, with the No. 5 Texans (9-2) traveling to Kingsville for a 1 p.m. kickoff.

West Texas A&M, who won a share of the LSC South Division title and will represent the league in the Kanza Bowl on December 5th, had nine players represented on the first and second squads with four offensive and five defensive choices.  The Buffaloes Keithon Flemming was named Co-Offensive Back of the Year, while Eugene Sims earned his second straight Defensive Lineman of the Year award.

Angelo State had four second-teamers including Freshman of the Year Dakarai Pecikonis.  The Rams Dale Carr was Co-Coach of the Year.

Eastern New Mexico had three honorees with one on the first-team and two on the second-team.

Overall, 113 student-athletes were recognized by the LSC's postseason awards program, with 34 players named to the first team, 33 on the second team and another 46 gaining honorable mention. The all-conference honors were selected by the head coaches of the seven South Division teams.

Tarleton honorees:

First team offense - Devin Guinn, WR; Garrett Lindholm, PK

First team defense - Marcus Phillips, LB (LB of Year); Lonnie Buchanan, S; Kyle Hopf, P; Kyle Piercefield, DS

Second team offense - Roderick Smith, RB; Keith Demby, FB; Jahmeel Hobson, WR; Bubba Wagner, G;

Second Team Defense - Ben Taifane, DT; Alonzo Horton, DE; McNeal Uwajeh, CB; Brandon Johnson, CB;