Stephenville High School junior Landri Withers earned the Defensive Player of the Year honor and senior teammate Kassidy Nowak also made the first team in voting by the coaches for the All-District 7-4A girls basketball team for the 2019-2020 season.

SHS sophomore Jaylee Matthews is the district’s Sophomore of the Year. Senior Jettie Funderburgh was voted second-team all-district.

Coach Jason Hodges’ Honeybees were eliminated from the playoffs on Feb. 17 when they lost by a 56-34 margin to Bridgeport in College Park Center on the campus of the University of Texas-Arlington.

Withers averaged eight points and four rebounds per game for the Honeybees. She also had 39 steals, 41 deflections and a dozen blocked shots.

Nowak averaged 7.4 points and 4.7 rebounds a game for the season. She racked up a team-high 70 assists.

Funderburgh made 42 baskets from 3-point range, averaging five points per game for the season, and dished out 43 assists.

Matthews recorded nine points a game and 3.5 rebounds. She had 53 steals and 55 deflections.

Katie McIrvin is an honorable mention selection for the Honeybees.

SHS Academic All-District honors were earned by Jaylee Matthews, Katie McIrvin, Dayanira Inman, Landri Withers, Kassidy Nowak, Alee McClendon, Jade Wilson, Zoe Birdwell, Jettie Funderbugh.

Jaylee Matthews led the Bees in scoring against Bridgeport, with 13 points, and Kassidy Nowak scored 10. Withers contributed six points and Funderburgh scored five.

The Bees, who entered the playoffs as the No. 3 seed out of their district, closed their season with a 23-12 record.

Bridgeport, the runner-up out of the stout District 8-4A alignment with a 6-2 mark, improved to 21-5 with that win. The Sissies entered the game ranked 13th in the state by the Texas Association of Basketball Coaches.

“Bridgeport is really good,” said Hodges, in his first season coaching the Honeybees. “They play good defense. We knew coming in that they would be tough. Our kids gave all they’ve got.”

Bridgeport allowed Stephenville only four points in the first quarter, and held a 21-10 halftime lead before outscoring the Bees 35-24 in the final two quarters.

The Honeybees appeared to be on their way to another strong season, climbing in the state rankings before losing their last three district games before the playoffs.

The Honeybees finished the campaign without two of the key starters they began the season with — junior Alee McClendon and senior Mikayla Diaz. McClendon had suffered a season-ending knee injury a few weeks ago. Coach Hodges said before the start of Monday’s game that Diaz was no longer with the team and had been dismissed for disciplinary reasons for a violation of team policy.

That left Nowak, Funderburgh and Dayanira Inman as the only seniors who completed the season on the court.

“We ran into a really good Bridgeport team tonight,” Hodges said. “We saw some young kids out there that did a fantastic job, like Mya Wilson and Trysten Monk. We wanted to see some of our youth. We’re starting to see great things coming. Change is hard. We’re going to adjust, and get ready for next year.”

District 7-4A Basketball


Co-MVP — Hailey Ibarra, Glen Rose, and Matyha Thompson, Brownwood.

Offensive POY — Bree Baker, Glen Rose.

Defensive POY — Landri Withers, Stephenville.

Co-Newcomer of the Year — Reagan Maxwell, Godley, and Jaylee Matthews, Stephenville.

Co-Sixth Man of the Year — Hazel Hawkins, Glen Rose, and Catrina Brooks, Brownwood.

Coaching Staff of the Year -- Glen Rose head coach Ramsey Ghazal and assistant coaches Morgan Riebock and Sam Schuelke.

First Team

Jeana Douglas, Glen Rose; Kora Dodson, Glen Rose; Hanna Robertson, Godley; Emma Burke, Godley; Rian Schultz, Mineral Wells; Kassidy Nowak, Stephenville; McKenzie Walker, Brownwood.

Second Team

Abby Stephenson, Glen Rose; Hannah Cantwell, Glen Rose; Carol Ann Hetzel, Brownwood; Bryanna Williams, Godley; Paige Riney, Mineral Wells; Jettie Funderburgh, Stephenville.

SHS Honorable Mention

Katie McIrvin.

SHS Academic All-District

Jaylee Matthews, Katie McIrvin, Dayanira Inman, Landri Withers, Kassidy Nowak, Alee McClendon, Jade Wilson, Zoe Birdwell, Jettie Funderbugh.