Postseason accolades are still rolling in for Stephenville High School’s remarkable 2017 football team.

When the annual Class 4A-6A All-Big Country football team was published in Saturday’s Abilene Reporter-News, head coach Greg Winder was named as the Coach of the Year, and 16 of his players — including seven on the first team — were honored.

In addition, on Sunday three Yellow Jackets were named to the ARN’s All-Big Country Super Team, which includes football standouts from Class A schools all the way up through Class 6A Abilene High School.

The Yellow Jackets named to the All-Big Country first team were running back Krece Nowak, offensive linemen Ty’von Anderson-Robison and Devon Roeming, place-kicker Chase Carrillo, defensive lineman Pacen Parker, linebacker Blu Caylor, and defensive back Gage Graham.

Sunday’s All-Big Country Super Team members from Stephenville are Anderson-Robison and Graham (named as Utility Player) on the first team, and Nowak on the Super Team’s second team.

Second-team Class 4A-6A All-Big Country honors for SHS went to offensive linemen Lane York and Jacob Poston, along with defensive back Cole Pettit.

The Abilene paper also cited six Yellow Jackets on its All-Big Country honorable mention list for 4A-6A. They are quarterback Easton Jones, Caylor at running back, Blake Aragaon, Kyle Lindsey and Graham at wide receiver, and Zane Walker at linebacker.

“That’s just a tribute to all the hard work these young men have done since last summer,” Winder said of the large number of ARN honorees. “It still comes down to (being) a team sport, but these guys got recognized.”

Getting the 4A-6A All-Big Country coaching honor was special because it took into consideration Class 6A Abilene High and 5A Abilene Cooper as well.

“Definitely, it’s an honor,” Winder said, “with all of the coaches in the Big Country area — and we have great coaches.”


Winder had been one of six finalists for the Coach of the Year award given by the 1st Down Club of Dallas-Fort Worth. At the awards banquet last Thursday night in Mansfield, Jeff Miller of Rockdale named as the 1st Down Club’s Coach of the Year.

Miller coached Rockdale to the Class 3A, Div. I state championship, defeating Brock in the final, 45-29.

The other finalists for the 1st Down Club’s Coach of the Year award were Chris Melson of Mansfield Legacy, John Abendschan of Saginaw Boswell, Kenny Davidson of Graham, and Chris Jensen of Trinity.

After leading the Yellow Jackets to a sweep of their our District 3-4A, Div. I games for the league title, Winder then took the team all the way to the state semifinals before losing to Kennedale, 54-28. That playoff run included a 31-28 triumph over then third-ranked and previously unbeaten Argyle.