Stephenville had another strong softball season in 2017, and now has the all-district honors to go with it.

Members of the Honeybees were voted by coaches to three of District 8-4A’s top honors, and four others were named to the league’s all-district first team. In addition, there were two other Honeybees who made second-team all-district.

Rus Mayes, the head coach of the Honeybees, was voted Coach of the Year.

The top all-district honors for SHS were earned by senior Nadine Arredondo, Offensive Most Valuable Player; senior Sami Shaffer, Catcher of the Year; and junior Julia Flores, Pitcher of the Year.

The first-team all-district players for Stephenville are juniors Morgan DiCiccio and Samantha Luna, along with sophomores Jessica Howell and Madison Gilder.

Stephenville’s second-team all-district players are junior Kenadee Richards and sophomore Bianka Garcia.

Mayes guided the Honeybees to the District 8-4A championship with an 11-1 record. The team eliminated Springtown in the bi-district round of the playoffs before losing to Brownwood in the area round.

A year ago as a sophomore, Flores was voted Pitcher of the Year in a different district alignment — 6-4A.

Shaffer, Arredondo, Gilder and DiCiccio were also first-team all-district last season. Howell was on the second team in 2016.

Mayes was voted Co-Coach of the Year last season in 6-4A.

The Honeybees finished their season with a 24-6 record.

This year’s overall district MVP is senior Abby Reeves of Godley. The Defensive MVP is sophomore Faith Waugh of Alvarado. Freshman Lexi Ebbens of Godley is the Freshman of the Year. The Designated Player/Utility MVP os junior Briana Brummer of Godley.