For the seventh-straight year, Tarleton State University’s men’s and women’s rodeo teams will compete in the College National Finals Rodeo.

Both teams qualified for the CNFR following this past weekend’s Tarleton Stampede, the regular season finale for the National Intercollegiate Rodeo Association’s (NIRA) Southwest Region. The women’s team collected enough points to overtake Eastern New Mexico University at Lone Star Arena on Saturday, and clinch second place to qualify for the “Rose Bowl of College Rodeo.”

Upon concluding the 2015-2016 regular season schedule, Tarleton qualifies six men and four women for the CNFR, slated for June 12-18, in Casper, Wyo. More than 400 cowboys and cowgirls from more than 100 universities will compete at the CNFR after contestants competed all year in one of the NIRA’s 11 regions. The top three students in each event and top two men’s and women’s teams from the NIRA regions advance to the CNFR.

Tarleton’s cowboys finished the year-end Southwest region standings with 4,376.66 points—well ahead of reserve champion Western Texas College (2,711.66), while the women’s team won the reserve champion title with 1,466.66 points behind region champion Texas Tech (2,542.5).

Before Saturday night’s short-round, Tarleton women’s team trailed Eastern New Mexico by 121.66 points, but put together a comeback performance to collect 123 points and edge the visiting team by a razor-thin, 1.67-point margin, sending the cowgirls back to the CNFR.

Set to represent the Tarleton men’s and women’s teams at the CNFR are:

• Kody Lamb - Bareback Riding (Southwest Region champion)

• Zac Lomax - Bareback Riding (Southwest Region reserve champion)

• Jace Lane - Saddle Bronc Riding (Southwest Region, 3rd place)

• Jace Melvin - Steer Wrestling

• Brody Yeary - Bull Riding

• Kyle Parrish - Tie Down Roping

• Allison Danley - Breakaway Roping (Southwest Region champion)

• Lauren Bane - Breakaway Roping

• Baili Collins - Goat Tying

• Ashleigh Baugh - Goat Tying.