CLEBURNE -United Cooperative Services honored 14 deserving students yesterday by awarding scholarships during a celebration banquet at the electric cooperative's headquarters. In its quest to demonstrate its commitment to the communities it serves, United presented $50,000 in scholarship awards to help members and their dependents achieve their educational goals.         

"When we develop strategies and objectives at United, there is an overriding theme," said United CEO Ray Beavers. "That theme is ‘look out for the membership' and our scholarship program is an example of how we follow through on that commitment," he said.

Of the 14 scholarship awards, 10 were in the amount of $2,500, three were each $5,000 and one totaled $10,000. 

$10,000 Winner?Macy Moncrief - Tarleton State University

$5,000 Winners

Dalton Alstaetter - Martin High School

Katie Bryan - Huckabay High School

Mary Smith - Alvarado High School


$2,500 Winners

Heidi Ruberg - Brazos River Charter School

Cory Stevens - Lingleville High School

Korbin Gee - Granbury High School

James Martin - Texas State University (from Burleson)

Caitlyn Cline - Stephenville High School

Christie Renfro - Alvarado High School

Paul Ryan Mitchell - Stephenville High School

Jordan McCleery - Stephenville High School

Morgan Walker - Tolar High School

Drew Denman - Home School (from Burleson)

In 1997, new funds were made available by House Bill 3203, which allows nonprofit electric cooperatives like United to put unclaimed member dividends to use for student scholarships.  This change in the law allowed United to take advantage of money previously lost to the state's general revenue fund and reinvest it locally, where it would have a greater impact on the people United serves.   

To date, more than 820 students have received United scholarships totaling more than $970,000 in award money. Winners are chosen from numerous applicants area-wide based on financial need, leadership, community involvement and school activities.?"These scholarship award winners represent the future of our country and we are proud of their achievements to date. Further, we know that they'll utilize this investment in their education to benefit society for many years," said Beavers.