While three incumbents with more than three decades of combined service attempted to use their experience to gather enough support from  constituents to add another term to their political careers, they failed to keep their seats.

Erath County residents who call Precinct 2 home will have a new commissioner and justice of the peace, while Precinct 4 will also see a new face on the commissioners court.

Much like the political climate across the United States, the majority of voters within Erath County opted to go Republican, with 3,131 of the 8,870 area voters who weighed in on the election casting a straight Republican ballot. On the flip side, only 701 Democratic voters cast a straight party ballot.  

Commissioner Precinct 2

Republican challenger Herbert Brown ousted Democratic incumbent Lynn Tidwell, who has served on the commissioners court for almost eight years.

Early voting totals showed Brown had garnered 56.29 percent of the vote with Tidwell struggling to meet 44 percent. A total of 906 early ballots were counted in the race, a number that grew to 2,004 at final count.

But the number of voters flocking to the polls Tuesday to make a last minute decision in the race had little impact on its outcome. Brown walked away with 56.49 percent of the vote and Tidwell tallied 43.51 percent.

While he will bring a new face to the commissioners court, Brown, a fourth generation Erath County native, served on the Lingleville ISD board of trustees for 14 years, and said he is ready to put his years of political and business experience to work.

"I want to thank all of the people who helped me get here," Brown said, following the election. "It is the will of the people. I look forward to getting in there and getting the job done."

Commissioner Precinct 4

In another upset, first-time candidate Scot Jackson stole the seat of long-time commissioner Marvin "Randy" Lowe, who is in this 12th year of service on the court. Jackson ran on the Republican ballot, while Lowe maintained his Democratic affiliation.

Early voting totals signaled an end to Lowe's commissioner career as Jackson led the race with 60.21 percent of the vote. At early count, 1,156 of Precinct 4 residents cast their ballots prior to Election Day.

At final count, 2,397 ballots had been cast and the margin also experienced a slight increase. Jackson stole the seat with 61.95 percent of the votes, compared to Lowe's 38.05 percent.   

Following the victory, Jackson was optimistic about his future political career, stating that being elected by a "good margin" showed that he does have his future constituents' support.

He said the success in his first campaign proved to be "very gratifying."

Jackson also said he plans to work closely with Lowe to learn the ropes of the precinct and gain the knowledge that can only be found in his predecessor's years of experience.

Justice of the Peace, Precinct 2

Another Republican challenger, Bart Greenway, upset Democratic incumbent Latrelle Cain, who worked to add another term to her 12 years of service to Precinct 2.

At early voting, 907 voters had weighed in on the race, with 57.88 percent favoring Greenway and 42.12 supporting Cain.

Final ballots totaled 2,017 but the the margin showed only a slight decrease. At final count, 56.12 percent backed Greenway and 43.88 percent voted for Cain.

"I would like to first thank my family for working so hard for me and I would also like to thank the Republicans for coming out to vote," Greenway said.   

State Representative Sid Miller was re-elected to another term, defeating Independent challenger Will Bratton. Miller was heavily favored in Erath County, garnering 75 percent of the vote.