nly four days are left until party chairs close their doors for filing for a spot on the ball for the 2010 primary races.

Sam Hirst-Wade, Erath County Democratic Chairman, said there have been no new filings for positions in the last week. Democratic incumbents who have filed include District Judge Don Jones, Precinct 2 Commissioner Lynn Tidwell, Precinct 4 Commissioner Randy Lowe, County Treasurer Donna Kelly and Justice of the Peace Precinct 2 Latrelle Cain.

The Republican Party has received word from several incumbents gearing up to return to their elected positions, as well as several newcomers vying for a number of positions.

District Clerk Wanda Pringle, County Clerk Gwinda Jones and Justice of the Peace Precincts 1, 3 and 4 Shawnee Bass have all filed, while County Judge Tab Thompson announced his intentions to return to his seat.

County Court at Law Judge Bart McDougal has also filed for re-election and faces challenger Heath Allen, who filed as a Republican.

Lowe has drawn several challengers vying to win the March primary and run against him in November, including Stephen Peterson, Scot Jackson, Jim Buck and James Medders. Bass will face challenger Jeff “Chili” Alexander and Republican Bart Greenway will challenge Cain.

Tidwell has amassed three Republicans including Ben Kirklen, Danny Crouch and Herbert Brown eager to win the primary and challenge him.

The last day to file is Monday.

Republican hopefuls interested in joining a race should call Springer at 965-6528. Democrats can contact Hirst-Wade at 254-434-1719.