Should Hico be wet or remain dry?

Should incumbent Dublin Mayor ‘Red’ Seagars be re-elected to another term?

Should incumbent Stephenville City Council members Mark Murphy and Cyndi Godwin remain or be replaced?

Should a proposed state constitutional amendment be passed to reduce the property taxes of the elderly and disabled?

Those are among the questions that will be answered when voters in Stephenville, Dublin, Hico and throughout Erath County go to the polls Saturday.

In Hico, voters will decide whether to approve package alcohol sales for the city.

Hico voters also will select three city council members from eight hopefuls - Anthony Cummings, Mark Flowers, Linda Koonsman, Bo McClammy, Shelly Moore, Ed Pettitt, Michael York and Sarah York.

In Dublin, Seagars is facing two mayoral challengers - Tom Gordon and Arthur “Gil” Gilbert.

Dublin voters will also choose between incumbent Ward 3 City Council member Tommy Sperry and Ward 3 hopeful Jack Thompson, while Melba Reed is squaring off against Jimmy Williams in the battle for Ward 4.

In Stephenville, Place 1 incumbent Godwin is facing off against Pat Shelbourne and Place 7 incumbent Murphy is battling the challenges of ex-council member Robert Burns and Virginia Abel.

Polls will be open from 7 a.m. - 7 p.m. Saturday.

The following is a list of Erath County precincts and polling places:

Precincts 10, 11, 12, 18, 19: Stephenville Recreation Building, 378 West Long Street, Stephenville; Precincts 20, 21, 23, 25: Dublin County Annex, 219 South Grafton, Dublin; Precinct 24: Good Tree Retirement Center, 2010 Good Tree Street (FM 8/Lingleville Road); Precincts 30, 31, 32, 33, 34: Central Elementary School-Portable Buildings, 780 W. Washington/Portable buildings are on Baxter Street, and Precincts 41, 44, 45, 46, 47: Embarq Telephone Office, corner of Lillian and Frey Streets, Stephenville.

DOUG MYERS is Managing Editor of the Empire-Tribune. He can be reached at or (254) 965-3124, ext. 229.