Tarleton State (9-2) is headed back to the NCAA Division II football playoffs for the third time in school history and the first since 2003.

The Texans are No. 5 in the final Super Region Four regional rankings, released by NCAA officials Sunday afternoon on ESPN News. They open playoff action on the road against No. 4 seed Texas A&M-Kingsville (9-2) at noon Saturday. It will be the teams' second meeting this season. The Javelinas defeated Tarleton 34-20 in Kingsville on Oct. 3.

The Lone Star Conference South Division has four teams in the regional bracket. No. 3 Midwestern State (9-2) hosts No. 6 Abilene Christian (8-3) in Wichita Falls at the same time Saturday after the two played at the same site and MSU won 15-13 this weekend.

Central Washington (11-0), the only undefeated team remaining in D2 football, is the No. 1 seed in Super Region Four, followed by four-time defending regional champ Northwest Missouri State (10-1) at No. 2. The top two seeds get a bye in the first round and host regional semifinal games on Nov. 21.

The winner of the Tarleton-TAMUK game travels to Central Washington for the regional semis, while the Midwestern-ACU winner goes to NW Missouri.

Tarleton entered Saturday's regular season finale ranked No. 3 in the region, but lost for the fifth straight year to West Texas A&M, 49-35. The Texans who were ranked No. 7 in the nation entering the weekend, were one of the six teams ranked in the top 13 nationally to fall Saturday.

Tarleton finished the regular season as co-champions of the LSC along with Midwestern and TAMUK. The three schools are also part of a four-way tie for the South Division title along with WT.

Following is a list of the playoff qualifiers in each region:

Super Region 1

1. West Liberty State

2. Shippensburg

3. California (PA)

4. East Stroudsburg

5. Edinboro

6. Fayetteville State

Super Region 2

1. North Alabama

2. Carson-Newman

3. Albany State

4. Arkansas Tech

5. UNC-Pembroke

6. West Alabama

Super Region 3

1. Minnesota Duluth

2. Grand Valley State

3. Minnesota State-Mankato

4. Nebraska-Kearney

5. Saginaw Valley State

6. Hillsdale

Super Region 4

1. Central Washington

2. Northwest Missouri State

3. Midwestern State

4. Texas A&M-Kingsville

5. Tarleton State

6. Abilene Christian