Despite the lack of early filers, contenders have stepped up to vie for the positions of mayor and council members in Ward 1 and Ward 3 in the May 9 election for the city of Dublin.

A few new comers have also joined the council. Aaron Locke, Ward 1, and Zachary House, Ward 2, have replaced Tom Gordon and Dan Burlison, respectively. Both Gordon and Burlison’s seats were up for grabs because both men decided to run for mayor, forcing them to resign their council seats. Locke and House’s terms will expire next year when the terms for their respective seats expire. If they wish to remain on the council, they will have to re-file at that time.

Dublin City Secretary Rhonda Williams had a busy day Monday, which was the last day to file for a place on the ballot.

“We only had two people file yesterday morning and by the deadline, we had 11. This is the biggest group we’ve had. We’re very excited,” said Williams.

The mayoral race has three candidates, all of whom have been serving on the council this term including Burlison, who has served for three years in Ward 1.

“We’ve brought Dublin a long way in the past three years. I want to keep Dublin going toward the future. I want to keep Dublin moving,” said Burlison.

Also in the mayoral race is long-time council member Gordon, who has served on the city council for seven years in Ward 1. Rounding out the race is Becky Norris who served in Ward 2. Norris has served on the city council for two years and hopes bring a “fresh” perspective to the mayor’s position.

Jimmy Millican, who is running uncontested, will fill another opening in Ward 2.

The second opening in Ward 1 will be filled by either Elizabeth Cook or Ben Roskilly.

Incumbent Tommy Sperry will defend his seat in Ward 3 against newcomer Travis Ake. Sperry has served in Ward 3 for four years.

In Ward 4, Kenneth Lundsford is running uncontested.

The last day for voters to register is Thursday, April 9. Early voting begins on Monday, April 27 and goes through Tuesday, May 5. Voters may cast their ballot at the Erath County Courthouse or the Dublin Annex.

See Thursday’s Empire-Tribune for Dublin ISD filings.