The 2008 campaign season is finally getting started with filing dates for the primary fast approaching.

Candidates interested in filing in numerous local races can do so from Dec. 1 - Jan. 2 by filing to run in the primary with local party chairmen.

Scott Darby is the Erath County Republican Party chairman and Alvis Yardley is the Erath County Democratic Party chair.

A slew of local seats are up for re-election, including District Attorney John Terrill, Sheriff Tommy Bryant, constables Larry Ciccarelli and Lee Roy Gaitan, precinct 1 commissioner Jerry Martin, precinct 3 commissioner Doug Eberhardt, tax assessor/collector Jennifer Carey, and State Representative Sid Miller.

Erath County Attorney Carey Fraser has already announced he will not seek a third term. All other candidates have not yet formally announced that they will seek re-election.

County Clerk Gwinda Jones said candidates must pick up a packet from her office and file an appointment for a campaign treasurer.

“This is something the candidates have to do before they can spend or take any money, Jones said.

The primary will be held March 4.

Those interested in filing for the primary should contact:

Scott Darby, chairman,

Erath County Republican Party

107 Hudson Dr.

Stephenville, TX 76401


Alvis Yardley, chairman

Erath County Democratic Party

1363 FM 847

Stephenville, Texas 76401


SARA VANDEN BERGE is Managing Editor of the Empire-Tribune. She can be reached at 254-968-2379, ext. 240.