Editor’s Note: The Region XI Education Service Center provided information for this article.

Special to the E-T

Dr. Darrell Floyd, superintendent of the Stephenville Independent School District, was selected as the Region XI Superintendent of the Year for 2007 by a selection panel on Tuesday.

The Superintendent of the Year award, sponsored by the Texas Association of School Boards, honors outstanding Texas administrators for achievement and excellence in public school administration.

“It is a real honor to be recognized as the Region XI Superintendent of the Year,” Floyd said Tuesday. “It is a testament to the wonderfully supportive school board that we enjoy here in Stephenville ISD.

“It is also a testament to the wonderful support SISD enjoys from parents and community members in support of students and employees striving for excellence. It is a privilege and honor to lead such a wonderful school district that encompasses and strives to continue a tradition of excellence.”

Candidates for the award must be nominated by their school boards, and are chosen for their strong leadership skills, dedication to improving the quality of education in their districts, commitment to public support and involvement in education, and ability to build good employee relations among teachers and staff members.

The Region XI selection panel, comprised of school board members from districts within the Region XI area, reviewed application submissions which highlighted the following performance areas:

Administration and School Climate Student Performance School Board-Superintendent Relations School Improvement Fiscal Management Facilities Management Instructional Management Student Management Personnel Management School-Community Relations Professional Growth and Development

“Dr. Floyd’s success with the financial crisis in his district back in 2000 is most impressive,” commented one judge. “He really turned that district around and helped save it from financial disaster.”

“Communication seems to be a key ingredient in Dr. Floyd’s leadership style,” said another judge. “He diligently strives to communicate effectively with his school board, his staff, and his community.”

As the Region XI winner, Floyd will move on to the state level of the competition. The state selection committee will interview all regional winners in August and choose five finalists. The finalists will be called to participate in a second interview by the state selection committee on September 28. The state winner will then be announced at the Texas Association of School Boards/Texas Association of School Administrators joint annual convention on September 29, 2007.

The state winner of the Superintendent of the Year award receives a $5,000 professional development award, which will be presented at the 2007 Texas Association of School Boards/Texas Association of School Administrators (TASB/TASA) Annual Convention. The award program is funded by Balfour and coordinated by TASB.