E-T Staff Report

The U.S. Department of Homeland Security's Federal Emergency Management Agency (FEMA) recently announced that residents in six additional Texas counties are now eligible for individual assistance to help homeowners, renters and businesses recover from the effects of severe storms, flooding and tornadoes occurring between June 16 and August 3.

Assistance is now available in Atascosa, Liberty, Refugio, San Patricio, Taylor and Upshur counties. These join 33 counties for which individual assistance has been previously declared, including Archer, Bell, Brown, Burnet, Cherokee, Comanche, Cooke, Coryell, Denton, Eastland, Grayson, Guadalupe, Hamilton, Henderson, Hood, Lampasas, Llano, Medina, Nueces, Parker, Runnels, Smith, Starr, Tarrant, Travis, Van Zandt, Victoria, Walker, Webb, Wichita, Williamson and Zavala.

"Severe storms and floods affected residents all across the state of Texas," said Federal Coordinating Officer Kenneth Clark. "Individuals who suffered losses in these newly declared counties as well as anyone in previously declared counties who has not yet registered with FEMA should do so as soon as possible."

"It is important that all affected Texas residents get the aid they need to recover," said Joan Haun, state coordinating officer. "The state requested these counties be added to the Presidential declaration and we are pleased that our federal partners have agreed to provide residents in these additional counties with assistance."

Individual assistance can provide grants to pay for temporary housing, home repairs and other disaster-related expenses not covered by insurance. Low-interest loans from the U.S. Small Business Administration may also be available to help renters, homeowners, businesses of any size and private non-profits recover uncompensated losses.

Residents of all 39 counties who sustained damages should register with FEMA by calling 1-800-621-FEMA (3362) or TTY 1-800-462-7585 for individuals with speech or hearing impairment. Registration is also available online at www.fema.gov. The registration deadline is Oct. 29.