Staff Writer

For Dublin residents interested in filing for a place on the May 10 ballot, time is running out.

Monday is the last day to file for a chance at a seat on Dublin City Council or the Dublin Independent School Districtís Board of Trustees.

City Secretary Rhonda Williams said each of the cityís four wards will have one seat on the council up for election in 2008.

The seats of Jeff Weaber, Ward One; Dan Burlison, Ward Two; Gaylon Craddock, Ward Three; and James Yoho, Ward Four will be up for election.

Burlison and Craddock have both filed for re-election. Tom Gordon has filed for a shot at Ward One.

With mere hours remaining until application deadline, no one has come forth to file for the opening in Ward Four. Incumbent James Yoho said he has no intentions of seeking re-election.

Williams said that if no one files for the opening, the council could appoint a council member following Mayís election. The appointee will hold the seat for one year and an election will be held next year to fill the vacancy for a year. Council seats are two-year terms.

Meanwhile, two seats on the DISD Board of Trustees are also up for election.

DISD Superintendent Roy Neff said the seats of president Mike Jurney and the vacated seat of Travis Barnes will be open for election.

Jurney has served on the board for 16 years and has served as the boardís president for three terms. Jurney recently filed for re-election.

Those interested in representing their ward on the Dublin City Council or joining the DISD Board of Trustees only have until Monday to file.

Interested parties may file their application for city council with Williams at Dublin City Hall at 213 E. Blackjack. Applications for the school board openings may be picked up at the districtís Central Administration Office at 420 N. Camden.