Nearly three months after referring it to committee, Stephenville City Council members are scheduled tonight to discuss, during a “work session,” a proposal to designate a portion of Graham Street in memory of the late Carl Phillips.

Presented by Harris Methodist Erath County Hospital Chaplain Mike Hannah in early May, the proposal would designate Graham Street from the north city limits to the south city limits the "Carl Phillips Memorial Highway."

Hannah touted Phillips because of exemplary service, including Phillips’ employment at the Stephenville hospital from 1926 until his retirement in 1998 and his service to the Stephenville Chamber of Commerce.

In addition, Hannah has noted that Phillips:

Was an honorary member of the Erath County Bar Association, Received an honorary doctorate from Tarleton State University, Received recognition from former President Clinton for 72 years of service to the Stephenville hospital, and that January 24, 1998, was declared "Carl Phillips Day" in Stephenville.

The committee "work session" is scheduled to begin at 5:30 p.m. at Stephenville City Hall, 298 W. Washington St.

The discussion about Phillips will take place in the council’s Public Works Committee, which includes council members Andrew Johnson, Barry Ratliff, Todd McEvoy and Mark Murphy.

The Public Works Committee is also set to: Discuss Storm Water Drainage-Phase II, Methodist Branch, the Pump Station bid award, and receive a status report on "new wells."

Also tonight, the council’s Finance Committee, which consists of council members Alan Nash, Ratliff, Pat Shelbourne and Nancy Hunter, is scheduled to discuss "Child Safety Fund Requests" and the city’s fee schedule.

Meanwhile, the council’s Solid Waste Management Committee, which consists of Murphy, Hunter, Shelbourne and Malcolm Cross, is slated to talk about "Landfill Cell No. 3."

The council’s Nominations Committee, which consists of Cross, Johnson, Todd McEvoy and Nash, also will discuss "records retention," the Western Heritage Committee and "council committee structure."

DOUG MYERS is Managing Editor of the Empire-Tribune. He can be reached at or (254) 965-3124, ext. 229.