Hunters: buck up.
Now is your chance to obtain a hunter/safety certification - something all hunters must have to enjoy participating in the outdoor sport.
Hunters can obtain the license by attending the 10-hour course, which will be held from 9 a.m.-5 p.m. Saturday, Aug. 15, and 1-5 p.m. Sunday, Aug. 16, at the hunting lodge at Ed Horton’s Ranch in Stephenville.
The lodge is located 7.1 miles south on FM 914.
The class will include instruction on survival, first aid, firearm and archery safety, wildlife identification and game laws.
The class will be led by Calvin Hudson and Tony Navarrro, a Texas Parks and Wildlife game warden.
Hudson said hunting accidents have decreased significantly since the program was made mandatory in 1988.
In 1966, there were 81 reported hunting accidents in Texas, according to statistics with the Texas Parks and Wildlife. In 2008, there were only 26.
“Since this program became mandatory, there has been about a 70 percent reduction (in hunting-related accidents),” Hudson said. “So we think it works pretty well.”
Anyone born after Sept. 2, 1971 must have this license to hunt legally.
The one time course is “good for life and honored in every state,” Hudson said.
The course costs $30 and includes supplies, meals and refreshments. For more information or to sign up, call Hudson at 254-967-1813. Space is limited to only 30 participants. A copy of a social security card is required.