Nancy Hunter wants to look into doing something about where registered sex offenders live in Stephenville.

Addressing fellow Stephenville City Council members late Tuesday, Hunter said the city currently has 11 sex offenders living within the city limits - eight who presently live within one-half mile of schools, parks or playgrounds.

Hunter said she’s looked at similar ordinances in other cities and asked for the matter to be referred to committee.

Following Hunter’s suggestion, the council - without objection - referred the matter to its Public Health and Welfare Committee.

(See Thursday’s Empire-Tribune for more on this story)

Also Tuesday, the council approved the conceptual design for an airport terminal at Clark Field Municipal Airport.

Chuck Willis, of GRW Engineers Inc., estimated a cost range of $390,000 to $470,000 for the proposed terminal building.

Upon questioning from council member Barry Ratliff, Willis also acknowledged the building — as designed — could potentially be expanded at a later date to be used for commercial traffic.

The terminal project is funded through a state grant of 50 percent, while the city would match 50 percent.

In addition Tuesday, the council voted to spend $40,000 to repair the “compactor” at the Stephenville Landfill, a move that will allow the landfill to reopen soon.

Last week, Public Works Director Nick Williams said the city’s permit with the Texas Commission on Environmental Quality requires that a compactor be on-site. Because of this, the landfill must be closed until the city’s compactor is repaired.

Williams tried to find a rental compactor, which is a bulldozer with a “compaction wheel” on its front rather than a blade, but the closest he could find was in Canada.

The city hopes to reopen the landfill by June 21.

Council members also renamed Todd McEvoy as Mayor Pro-Tem.

In other action Tuesday, council members were named to various committees, including:

Finance Committee: Alan Nash, chairman, and members Pat Shelbourne, Barry Ratliff, and Hunter, Nominations Committee: Malcolm Cross, chairman, and members Andrew Johnson, McEvoy and Nash, Personnel Committee: Hunter, chairman, and members McEvoy, Shelbourne and Nash, Planning and Development Committee: McEvoy, chairman, and members Johnson, Hunter and Ratliff, Public Health/Safety Committee: Ratliff, chairman, and members Shelbourne, Cross and Mark Murphy, Solid Waste Management Committee: Murphy, chairman, and members Cross, Hunter and Shelbourne, and Public Works Committee: Johnson, chairman, and members Ratliff, McEvoy and Murphy.

Council members also accepted Mayor Rusty Jergins’ suggestion that members act as liaisons to various citizen advisory committees, including:

Johnson to the Planning and Zoning Commission, Nash to the Board of Adjustments, the Building Board, and the Mechanical Board, Hunter to the Electrical Board, Plumbing Board, Dangerous Building Abatement Board, and the Western Heritage Board, Ratliff to the Airport Advisory Board, McEvoy to the Parks and Recreational Advisory Board, Shelbourne to the Senior Citizens Advisory Board, Cross to the Library Advisory Board, and Murphy to the Water Conservation Committee.

Furthermore Tuesday, the council:

Heard an annual report from Specialized Billing and Collections System of Texas, Approved the final plat for the expansion of First Presbyterian Church Subdivision, Approved the final plat of Ferguson Acres Subdivision, Approved the final plat of Elk Ridge Estates, Approved Ordinance No. 2007-11, adopting the National Incident Management System, Approved the bid award for the Waste Water Treatment Plant Tractor,

DOUG MYERS is Managing Editor of the Empire-Tribune. He can be reached at or (254) 965-3124, ext. 229.