Candidates for House District 59, incumbent J.D. Sheffield and challenger Shelby Slawson received the most votes Tuesday’s Republican Party Primary and will head into a runoff on Tuesday, May 26.

The winner will effectively represent the seat of House District 59 when the Texas Legislature reconvenes in 2021.

Dr. J. D. Sheffield was elected to the Texas House of Representatives in 2012 to serve the citizens of Texas House District 59, which encompasses the counties of Comanche, Coryell, Erath, Hamilton, McCulloch, Mills, San Saba and Somvervell.

Slawson, attorney and Erath County small business owner, secured 46 percent of the vote to Sheffield’s 30 percent. Third candidate Cody Johnson and owner of Twisted J, pulled in 24 percent.

In Erath County, Slawson was the leading candidate in the race for House District 59 with 4,304 votes while incumbent Sheffield received 1,718 and Johnson received 1,473.