Erath County commissioners Dee Stephens (Precinct 1) and Joe Brown (Precinct 3) handily won re-election to their posts during Tuesdays Republican Party Primary.

Stephens beat challenger Terry Truss with 1,378 votes while Truss had 619, according to unofficial election results.

Im honored that the constituents of precinct 1 came out and allowed me to have another term as their commissioner, Stephens said. I plan on continuing to serve Erath County and precinct 1 and do the best we can do each day to make it better. Id also like to condone Mr. Truss for running a clean campaign; it shows the character thats instilled in him. You dont have to go to the mudslinging that some of the people did. I'm grateful that we two can refrain from doing that.

Brown had 1,181 votes while challenger Justin Slawson had 586.

"Im honored that the citizens of precinct 3 would vote me back into office again, Brown said. Im going to try to do all I can to keep precinct 3 and Erath County in the best shape possible and maintain it better than it has been."