The Association of Texas Small School Bands has announced its selection of the 2019 ATSSB All-State Band. More than 9,000 high school band students from across Texas auditioned in 20 different regions for a place in their respective all-region bands. The top chairs in each region advanced to one of the five area auditions held this past weekend across the state and only 290 of these 2,020 students were selected for all-state honors. 

Yellow Jacket Band members Emma Clarke and Conner Stewart – Trumpet, Rett Douglas – Trombone and Dillon Shumaker – Tuba, were selected to the all-state band.  

They were chosen for this honor in competitive auditions held this year across the state at region and area levels. All the students are students in the SHS yellow jacket band, under the direction of Michael Childs, Meghan Lockwood, Michel Wimberly, Chris Conway and Scott Copeland, where they have also earned leadership roles as section leaders, as well as performing in the top ensembles.  Emma is a trumpet student of Dr. Brian Walker, a member of the Tarleton instrumental music faculty. Emma is making her 2nd appearance in the all-state group. Emma is the daughter of Richard and Karen Clarke.  Conner is the son of Margurite Stewart and also studies with Dr. Walker.  Rett is the son of Heidi and David Douglas and a trombone student of SHS alumni Eric Lawson and Chris Conway. Dillon is the son of Jaimie and Michael Shumaker and a tuba student of retired SHS band director Jim Perry.  Conner, Rett and Dillon are making their first appearance in the all-state band.  

“I couldn’t be more proud of these four students when the results were posted showing they were selected to the all-state group,” says Director of Bands Michael Childs.  “This is a huge accomplishment for them and performing with the all-state bands will be a singular experience.  They all have put in a great deal of time preparing the audition music and the band staff is extremely proud to have them named to the all-state groups.”The Association of Texas Small School Bands, of which all the SHS band staff are members, is a 1200-member group of band directors in class 1A, 2A, 3A, and 4A high schools in Texas dedicated to promoting quality music education in their schools.  The ATSSB All-State Bands will meet in rehearsals in San Antonio Feb. 13-16 and will present a concert beginning at 9 a.m. on Saturday, Feb. 16, in the Lila Cockrell Theatre of the Henry B. Gonzales Convention Center in downtown San Antonio. 

Dr. Cody Birdwell – director of bands at University of Kentucky, will be the clinician-conductor of the All-State Symphonic Band. Mr. Dennis Johnson – Director of Bands at Murray State University, will be the clinician-conductor of the All-State Concert Band. Christopher Bruya, Jazz Studies Director of Central Washington University, will be the clinician-conductor of the All-State Jazz Ensemble which will perform at 11:30 a.m. on Saturday, Feb. 17 in Convention Center Hemisfair Ballroom 1.