If you think election season is over, think again.

Just as the dust is starting to settle from Saturday’s city and school election, voters will now turn their attention to the primary runoff.

Early voting in three locally-contested races begins Monday. Polls will be open from 8 a.m. - 5 p.m. Monday through Friday and 7 a.m.-7 p.m. May 17-18 at the Erath County Courthouse and Dublin Annex.

On the ballot

Headlining the ballot is the race for Erath County Judge between Alfonso Campos and Shelby Slawson.

In the Republican Party Primary in March, Campos received 36.93% of the vote and Slawson received 35.79%, forcing a runoff in what was then a five-person race.

Asked how he felt moving into the runoff, Campos said he is “nervous.”

“But that’s to be expected,” he said. “I’m still working hard and reminding people to get out and vote. The more people we get out there, the better.

“I will continue knocking on doors until the voting is over. We have met so many people during our campaign and we couldn’t be happier with the reception we have been getting. It’s been refreshing.”

Slawson said is also ready for early voting to get started.

“I have throughly enjoyed knocking on doors and talking to thousands of neighbors across our county - we truly share a very special place,” Slawson said. “After months of meetings, training and preparation I am energized and looking forward to the runoff election and even more excited to get to work for our county.”

The winner will replace longtime judge Tab Thompson who is retiring after serving 24 years.

Two commissioner’s seats are also on the ballot.

Incumbent Herbert Brown is facing a challenge from Albert Ray for precinct 2 and John Wooley and Jim Buck are in the runoff for precinct 4.

Election day is Tuesday, May 22. Polls will be open from 7 a.m.-7 p.m. at the Erath County Courthouse, TexasBank, Dublin Annex and Huckabay School Building.