Voters will head to the polls today to vote in the Republican Primary Election.

Polls will be open from 7 a.m.-7 p.m. at 10 locations in Erath County: The courthouse, TexasBank, United Cooperative Services, Newman Hall, Dublin County Annex, Lingleville School, Morgan Mill Community Center, Selden Community Center, Bluff Dale Fire Department and Huckabay School.

“There are 10 voting locations and voters can vote at any of them,” said County Clerk Gwinda Jones.

Voters have a lot to decide locally with a contentious race for sheriff and five candidates vying for the position of county judge. 

We spoke to a few of the candidates on Monday about their election night plans.

“I’ll be glad when it’s over,” said Kim Barrier, candidate for Erath County treasurer who is running against Kelli Raymond.

Barrier said she plans to gather with family and friends at Soup ’n More tonight while waiting on election returns before making her way to the courthouse.

Shelby Slawson, candidate for county judge, says she will enjoy a low-key night with family and friends at Beans & Franks, while Jon Koonsman will wait on returns at Bull Nettle.  

Clell Murray, candidate for sheriff, says he plans to have dinner out, then head to the courthouse for early voting results.

“We want to be (at the courthouse) at 7 (p.m.) to find out how early voting turns out,” Murray said. “That will give us an idea on how it’s going.”

Sheriff Matt Coates says he will wait on election returns with close family and friends at Fuzzy’s Taco Shop. 

The E-T will be at the courthouse when polls close at 7 p.m. 

For immediate election results, stay connected to the E-T’s Facebook page and

Here is a look at the races we will be keeping a close eye on:

Erath County Judge

Heath Allen

Jack Bragg

Alfonso Campos

Jon Koonsman

Shelby Slawson

Erath County Treasurer

Kim Barrier 

Kelli Raymond 

Erath County Sheriff

Matt Coates 

Bobby Harpole 

Clell Murray

Paul Tyus 

Commissioner Precinct 2

Herbert Brown

Jim Pool

Albert Ray

Scotty Whitefield

Commissioner Precinct 4

Jim Buck

Cody Scott

Shane Stegall

John Wooley