With the official filing deadline now behind us, local Republicans vying for a variety of offices are shifting their focus to campaigning.

Gil Parks, president of the Erath County Republican Party, verified the filings with the Texas Secretary of State’s Office shortly after 6 p.m. Monday. 

“We are going to have a full ballot,” Parks said.  


The following is a list of how contested local offices have taken shape.

Commissioner Precinct 2

Herbert Brown, incumbent

Jim Pool, challenger 

Albert Ray, challenger 

Scotty Whitefield, challenger 

Commissioner Precinct 4

(Incumbent Scot Jackson is not seeking re-election.)

Jim Buck

Cody Scott 

Shane Stegall 

John Wooley

Erath County Judge

(Incumbent Tab Thompson is not seeking re-election.)

Heath Allen

Jack Bragg

Alfonso Campos

Jon Koonsman

Shelby Slawson

Erath County Sheriff

Matt Coates, incumbent (Coates was appointed to the position in Dec. 2016) 

Bobby Harpole, challenger

Clell Murray, challenger

Paul Tyus, challenger

Erath County Treasurer

(Incumbent Donna Kelly is not seeking re-election.)

Kim Barrier

Kelli Raymond

State Representative

Dr. J.D. Sheffield - incumbent

Chris Evans - challenger

Candidates will draw for places on the ballot on Thursday. The last day to register to vote is Monday, Feb. 5. 

Early voting will be held from Feb. 20 - March 2.

Election Day is Tuesday, March 6.