Dr. Kyle McGregor, currently the chief of staff to the president, has been named vice president for advancement and external relations, President F. Dominic Dottavio has announced. The move is effective July 1.

He will replace Dr. Rickey Richardson, who will move into a new role as an assistant professor in the College of Business Administration.

McGregor will assume responsibility for providing leadership of the development, external relations, marketing and communication functions of the university as well as continuing to serve as the principal liaison for federal and state legislative activities.

“Dr. McGregor has worked closely with the Division of Advancement and External Relations since becoming the chief of staff, and I look forward to him bringing the same level of leadership, energy and expertise to the division as he exhibits in the Office of the President,” Dottavio said.

Since 2002, McGregor, associate professor of agricultural and consumer sciences, has gathered more than $1 million in external funding, led multiple research and outreach projects for state and national agencies and has received 11 different commendations for excellence in teaching. 

“As an alumnus and faculty member, I am honored and excited to take on this new challenge,” McGregor said. “What a wonderful opportunity to provide leadership and service to a university family that has done so much for me.”

McGregor earned his bachelor of science degree in agricultural education from Tarleton in 1996. He went on to obtain a master’s degree in 1997 and a doctorate in agricultural education in 2002, both from Texas Tech University. He was appointed to the Tarleton faculty in 2002.?He has published numerous peer-reviewed research articles for scholarly organizations, including the American Association of Agricultural Educators, the Southern Association of Agricultural Scientists, the National Agricultural Education Research Conference and others.?At Tarleton, McGregor has received numerous awards and honors for teaching, including the Jack and Louise Arthur Faculty Award for Excellence in Teaching, the O.A. Grant Excellence In Teaching Award and the Outstanding Teacher Award, American Association of State Colleges of Agriculture and Renewable Resources.