The race is on and the ballots are set for the upcoming March Republican Party Primary in Erath County.

Candidates vying for a position gathered Monday for a brief meeting and ballot drawing, which determined the order the names will appear on the March ballots.

There are only Republicans running in the local elections, which means the primary will determine the final outcome. Those Republicans running unopposed include District Judge Jason Cashon, County Judge Tab Thompson, District Clerk Wanda Pringle, County Clerk Gwinda Jones, County Treasurer Donna F. Kelly, Precinct 1 Justice of the Peace Shawnee Bass and Precinct 2 Justice of the Peace Bart Greenway.

Local races to watch include Billy Van Diest and Shane Stegall facing off against incumbent Scot Jackson for Precinct 4 commissioner; Albert Ray challenging precinct 2 Commissioner Herbert Brown and local attorney Blake Thompson challenging County Court at Law Judge Bart McDougal. 

Other races in the Republican Primary are State Senator, US House, District 11 and District 25, Governor of Texas, Lt. Governor, State Attorney General, Commissioner of the General Land office, Railroad Commissioner, Chief Justice Supreme Court Place 6 and Place 8 and Judge in the Court of Criminal Appeals.

Erath County Republicans are also watching the race for Texas Ag. Commissioner as Stephenville's own Sid Miller is running. There is also plenty of interest in the race for State Representative of District 59 which includes incumbent J.D. Sheffield and Stephenville resident Danny Pelton.

The Republican Primary will be held on Tuesday, March 4.

Not a single Democrat holds an elected office in Erath County. County Treasurer Donna Kelly was the last Democrat and she switched parties this year.