The race is on for two county commissioner seats up for grabs in March.

On Tuesday, Erath County Republican Party Chairman George Eichenberg confirmed in an email that two more local Republicans have plans to file before Monday's deadline.

Those two Ernest "Billy" Van Diese and Shane Stegall will challenge Commissioner Scot Jackson for Precinct 4 in the March 4 Republican Party Primary.

Jackson, has filed paperwork for his campaign treasurer appointment, but has yet to file with the Erath County Republican Party for re-election. Calls to Jackson for comment were not returned.

Meanwhile, his challengers are more than willing to talk about the upcoming race.

"I've been praying for guidance in some changes I'm making in my life and career, and the opportunity to run is something I've been considering and praying about," Van Diese said. "I want to do something where I can make a difference and I think I have the experience to do well in this position and help the people in my precinct."

Van Diese and his family moved to Stephenville three years ago from Amarillo. He said they came here for work, but found they loved the community and plan to make it their home.

"I love it in Stephenville and in Erath County," he said. "There are wonderful people in this community and great churches and schools, everything we could want for our boys. I'm just a hard working guy who will give 100 percent to the job."

Stegall said running for commissioner is something he has considered for a long time. The former dairyman and father of two is looking forward to the chance to serve his community.

"I feel like now is the best time to do this. I can really serve the residents of the county well as commissioner," Stegall said. "I'm available 24/7 and have the common sense and good work ethic to be the commissioner we need in Precinct 4. If given the chance, I want to work to help reunite the people of this community and the commissioners themselves."

Precinct 2 Commissioner Herbert Brown will also face a challenge from Albert Ray, and County Court at Law Judge Bart McDougal will face local attorney Blake Thompson.

Both Justice of the Peace officers Shawnee Bass (JP1) and Bart Greenway (JP2); Jason Cashon (District Judge); Tab Thompson (County Judge); Wanda Pringle (District Clerk), Gwinda Jones (County Clerk) and Donna Kelly (County Treasurer) have all filed for re-election and have no challengers at this time.

The final day to file is Monday, Dec. 9. The Republican Primary, which will decide a majority, if not all of the Erath County races, will be held on Tuesday, March 4.