Nominations for the Tarleton State University Rodeo Hall of Fame are now being accepted for 2014.

Organizers of the Tarleton Rodeo Hall of Fame have formed a committee and will accept nominations through Jan. 14 for the third class of inductees.

The 2012 inaugural inductees were Angie Watts Averhoff, Vicki Higgins Emerson, Sally Preston, Karen Walls, Connie Wilkinson Wood, Martha Tompkins Wright, Sharon Harrison Youngblood and Hadley Reed. All of these women were on one or more of the women’s championship teams of 1969, 1970 and 1971. The 2013 inductees included Tarleton’s first-ever NIRA championship rodeo team from 1967: Billy Albin, Charles Bitters, Johnny Kirk Edmondson, Bobby Hungate, Lionel Lane, Randy Magers and Terry Walls. Also inducted in 2013 were former rodeo coach Carl Chumney and Dr. Ken Dorris, a longtime supporter of the program and former veterinarian for the rodeo team.

“Tarleton rodeo has had a huge impact on the National Intercollegiate Rodeo Association and the NIRA Southwest Region,” said assistant rodeo coach Tibba Smith. “Today, Tarleton has one of the largest teams in the nation with 112 card-holding student members, and continues to demonstrate the winning tradition set years ago.”?The first rodeo team at Tarleton was formed in 1947. Since then, student competitors have won six national championship titles and 21 individual national titles, plus numerous event and team championships within the Southwest Region.

Individuals and teams named to the hall of fame will have performed at a level distinctly and significantly higher than that of their teammates or associates, said rodeo coach Mark Eakin. “Their performance will have brought honor and distinction to Tarleton,” he said.

Anyone interested in nominating a past Tarleton rodeo student or coach is encouraged to fill out the nominating form located under the “Hall of Fame” link online at:

For more information, call the Office of Rodeo Activities at 254-968-9187.