CLEBURNE –Demonstrating its commitment to the communities it serves, United presented $50,000 in scholarship awards July 30 to 14 deserving students at a banquet at the cooperative’s Eastern district Office in Burleson. A longstanding program at the cooperative, the scholarship awards were created to encourage and assist in the educational pursuits of the co-op’s members and their families.

“As a member-owned electric cooperative, we think it’s imperative that we play a role in helping our members and their children pursue their educational dreams and our scholarship program has helped hundreds of deserving students over the last 12 years,” said United CEO Ray Beavers.  

Each summer, United launches a competition in which members or dependents of members apply for one of the scholarships. More than 70 applied in 2012. Of the 14 scholarship awards, 10 were in the amount of $2,500, three were each $5,000 and one totaled $10,000. 

$5,000 Winners

Taylor Yocum – Tarleton State University

Ana Villagomez – Lingleville High School

$2,500 Winners

Morgan Gilliland – Stephenville High School

Valorie Phillips – Tolar High School

Shannon Brenning – Tolar High School

Jaring Damstra – Dublin High School

To date, more than 850 students have received United scholarships totaling more than $1 million in award money. Winners are chosen from numerous applicants area-wide based on financial need, leadership, community involvement and school activities.?“By investing in these young people, we are having an impact on the future generations that should help them benefit society for many years,” said Beavers.