The Erath County Association of Retired School Employees met May 1 at the Graham Street Church of Christ Family Center with 24 members present.

President Pat Fain called the meeting to order. Mr. Dwain Bills gave the invocation and led the group in the pledges to the flags.Marilyn Smith gave the Treasurerís Report.

Sally Smith, chairman of the Social Committee, thanked everyone who had furnished refreshments during the year and a special recognition was given to Martha and Mary Jones for always bringing the coffee, paper goods and door prizes.

Pat Fain presented awards from TRTA to the following:

Martha and Mary Jones for Unusual Service

Barbara McKnight for Unusual Service

Myra Gandy for Most Steps Walked

Betty Leatherwood for Most Volunteer Hours

ECARSE was awarded an Outstanding Recognition and Achievement Award and a

Gold Membership Award for Superior Member Retention

Charlene Boucher introduced speaker, Nancy Byler, District XV President, and newly elected second vice president of TRTA. She addressed the three main areas of emphasis or concern for the coming year: 1) to increase membership, 2) Legislative Education Initiative, and 3) Legislature directed Teacher Retirement System (TRS) to study the Defined Benefit Plan and TRS Cares (health insurance).

President Fain presented a survey for the members to have input regarding future programs and other ideas or comments. She also reminded members that Marilyn Smith, Treasurer, was still taking membership dues.

Door prizes were given to Kay Hilburn, Les Gandy, Nova Schouten and Bob Fain.

Hostesses for the meeting were Wilma Davis and Nova Schouten.

The next meeting of ECARSE will be Sept. 4.