Stephenville High School's UIL Academics team traveled to Waco Midway this past weekend to participate the 8-4A District UIL meet. The group brought home several individual and team medals and was named the second place team out of all schools competing in district 8-4A.

"The entire team did an outstanding job clinching a second place finish in district 8-4A," UIL Coordinator Rachel Carter. "Twenty-four individuals qualified for regionals, which will take place on April 20-21."

Results from the Waco Midway meet are as follows:


Individual Competitors 

• Calculator Applications: 5th - Janine Prukop

• Current Issues: 5th - Ava Lindsey

• Computer Applications: 1st - Alec Wills, 3rd - Dakotah Martinez and 4th - Matt Dietrich

• Editorial Writing: 5th - Renee Pharis

• Feature Writing: 1st - Renee Pharis and 5th - Cassie Goodwin

• Headline Writing: 1st - Renee Pharis and 6th - Cassie Goodwin

• Informative Speaking: 2nd - Jacob Woolridge, 5th - Billy Cogburn and 6th - Kitty Sanders

• Lincoln Douglas Debate: 1st - Matthew Steward

• Literary Criticism: 1st - Laura Tanter, 2nd - Laura Thomas, 3rd - Becca Floyd and 5th - James Stanphill

• Mathematics: 4th  - Janine Prukop and 6th - Chris Marble

• Number Sense: 4th - Austin Liu

• News Writing: 2nd - Ivan Gallego and 3rd - Renee Pharis

• Persuasive Speaking: 3rd - Matthew Steward, 5th - Jordan Carpenter and 6th - Garrett Cole

• Poetry Interpretation: 2nd - David Ball, 3rd - Sarah Smith and 4th - Morgan Gilliland

• Prose Interpretation: 1st - Mary Meiron and 4th - Candace Harmon

• Ready Writing: 1st - Jacob Woolridge, 4th - Jessica Kern and 6th - Forrest Stanley-Stevens

• Science: 1st - Chris Marble, 6th - Alec Wills

• Top Physics: Chris Marble

• Social Studies: 5th - Tylan Jones and 6th - Ava Lindsey

• Spelling and Vocabulary: 1st - Isabella Manlapaz, 2nd - JoAnn Sanchez and 3rd - Dylan Daugherty


Team Results

• Calculator Applications: 2nd place team                  

Team members: Allison Heflin, Kassie Marble, Landon Priddy and Janine Prukop      

• Current Issues: 2nd place team                  

Team Members: Ava Lindsay, Lukas Cain and Jordan Carpenter         

• Computer Science: 3rd place team                  

Team members: Alec Wills, Dakotah Martinez and Matt Deitrich     

• Cross Examination Debate: 4th place team                  

Team Members: Cash Cashell and Granger Boen

• Journalism: 2nd place team     

Team members: Renee Pharis, Cash Cashell, Cassie Goodwin, Kristen Michaels, Ivan Gallego, Forest Stanley-Stevens, Jessica Kern and Jacob Woolridge                   

• Literary Criticism: 1st place team                  

Team Members: Laura Tanter, Laura Thomas, Rebecca Floyd and James Stanphill                      

• Mathematics: 2nd place team                 

Team Members: Kassie Marble, Chris Marble, Austin Liu

• Science: 2nd place team                  

Team Members: Alec Wills, Cash Cashell, Chris Marble, Janine Prukop, Tylan Jones and Chris McLatchy

• Speech: 2nd place team  

Team members: Elle Brinkley, Candace Harmon, Mary Meiron, David Ball, Morgan Gilliland, Sarah Smith, Billy Cogburn, Kitty Sanders, Matthew Steward, Jordan Carpenter, Garrett Cole and Jacob Woolridge                

• Spelling and Vocabulary: 1st place team           

Team members: Andrea Perez, Joann Sanchez, Dylan Daughrty and Isabella Manlapaz