It wasn’t even close.

In the hotly contested race for Stephenville mayor, the only female candidate running was elected by a wide margin, becoming the second woman in the city’s history to be elected to the position.

Surrounded by friends and supporters at her home following election returns, Hunter expressed appreciation for the support she has received since announcing her bid for mayor.

“I would like to thank the voters for their support during my campaign and this election,” Hunter said. “I look forward to leading the city on issues important to the future of Stephenville. I would also like to congratulate the other candidates who were elected tonight. I look forward to working with each of them.”

Lavinia Lohrmann served as the first female mayor from 1992-1996.

Hunter garnered 33.76% (396) of the 1,385 votes cast in the city election. In second place was Joe Cude with 25.49% (299), followed by Pat Shelbourne with 19.52% (229), Mark Murphy with 14.58% (171), and Barry Ratliff with 6.65% (78).

In the race for Stephenville city council Place 4, Russ McDanel won with 45.80% (512), beating Don Zelman with 37.30% (417), and Chris Gifford with 16.91% (189).

In Place 6, Alan Nix won big, garnering 71.11% (795) against Virginia Abel with 28.89% (323).

In Place 8, Scott Evans posted the widest margin of victory in the entire election with 72.15% (785) to Sara Boen’s 27.85% (303).

In the race for Stephenville Independent School Board Place 7, Doug McLemore inched by incumbent Dr. Ruth Ann Stephens. McLemore received 51.30% (633) to Stephens’ 48.70% (601).

In the race for director of Middle Trinity Groundwater Conservation District, incumbent Ed Dittfurth beat challenger James Gray by a wide margin. Dittfurth garnered 64.12% (754), to Gray’s 35.88% (422).

In the race for Dublin Independent School Board, Mike Jurney and Dannis Lozano beat Craige Means and Gary Almquist. Jurney received 39.46% (58), followed by Lozano with 26.53% (39), Means with 20.41% (30) and Almquist 13.61% (20).