Outstanding Central Texas 4-H and FFA high school students received prominent recognition for their dedication to agriculture through AgTexas Farm Credit Services’ 3rd Annual AgYouth Banquet at the Granbury Conference Center on April 25.

Five students were among the 18 honorees to each receive a $1,000 scholarship from AgTexas Farm Credit, which created the program. Those students are Payton Byars of Aledo FFA, Kailei Gaines of Comanche FFA, Lindsay Leck of Cleburne FFA, Cory Sinkule of Penelope FFA and Montana Steel of Dawson FFA.

Honorees from the Stephenville area were Emily Brite of Hood County 4-H, Kailei Gaines of Comanche FFA, Tara Glasscock of Brown County 4-H, Ethan Price of Dublin FFA, and Lainey Speck and Katelyn Cozart, both of Early FFA.

Of these, Kailei Gaines received a $1,000 scholarship through random drawing.

AgTexas serves approximately 3,500 members in 43 counties through 13 offices, including Burleson, Hillsboro and Stephenville.

“Wednesday evening, we honored some of the best and brightest young minds in Texas with this program,” said AgTexas Farm Credit CEO Tim McDonald. “These students represent the next generation of agriculture in Texas and the United States. It’s our privilege to pay tribute to their achievements thus far and encourage them for the future.”

According to McDonald, the 4-H and FFA programs help introduce many of their participants to agriculture, allowing students to learn and apply science and technology to make farming and ranching more productive and offer promising futures.

“We are very pleased to have created the AgYouth of the Month program because it brings positive attention to young people who are investing in our state and nation as well as their own futures,” added McDonald. He adds, “We have increased last year’s number of scholarships to benefit more of these deserving students.”