It was an exciting afternoon today when the Big Brothers Big Sisters 2017 Dancing For the Stars contestants signed their official contracts at St. Luke’s Episcopal Church.

This year’s dance teams are Renee and Randy Thompson, Stuart and Connie Veldhuizen, Ricky and Brittany Thurman, Monty and Holli Stone, Craig and Amber Parks and Preston and Makayla Hart.

“Our theme this year is called ‘Rock this Town,’” said BBBS Regional Executive Director Sarah McNeal-Weaver. 

The dancers will pick their songs and begin practicing routines for a chance to win the Mirror Ball Trophy at 6:30 p.m. on Dec. 5 in the Tarleton State University Ballrooms.

Last year Jamey and Tracey Brown were the DFTS trophy winners and the event raised more than $111,000 for Big Brothers Big Sisters.

“I absolutely love everything about this event. I love how the community is so supportive and it’s just a really nice dancing event for Stephenville — something different with the black tie atmosphere,” McNeal-Weaver said. “And I like to see the six teams come together and get excited to help the children of our community.”